God intended for good

Life gets busy at times, doesn’t it? I have struggled to complete these blog posts but I have, by the grace of God, been keeping up with my reading! I actually miss it on days when I put it off or get behind. That feeling of hunger for the word is exciting for me since I know I have often lacked it in the past. Eating more of the word and tasting how truly good it is only makes you want it more. Praise God that he gives us all we need and that we have freedom to feast on his word!

I am at work right now and won’t be able to do my official post for the last day’s reading like I normally do, but I have to say that I have been really enjoying the story of Joseph… What’s so strange to me is that I have read it before but honestly have hardly no memory of it. And this was only maybe a year ago that I read it.

The NLT has been so helpful to me in understanding the stories and how it flows. I have never been good at following story lines… I’m one of those who gets easily confused in movies (“what just happened?”) and was always SO confused when reading history textbooks. But the Holy Spirit is giving me understanding when I read lately and I am so thankful!! I need to always be in humble need of the Spirit’s aid in my reading… this little brain isn’t so bright and this heart is hard without God’s wisdom and softening power.

What I love about Joseph’s life and his story is how God used the evil and mistakes of his brothers for good. How merciful God is and how wise He is and how powerful He is to turn things around (He had it all planned to begin with!). I just love that about God and this story!

I love when Joseph says to his brothers, who are begging for forgivness and are afraid they will be slaves…

Don’t be afraid of me. Am I God, that I can punish you? You intended to harm me, but God intended it all for good. He brought me to this position so I could save the lives of many people.  No, don’t be afraid. I will continue to take care of you and your children.” So he reassured them by speaking kindly to them.   -Gen 50:19-21

What a picture of God’s love and forgiveness through Christ’s sacrifice on the cross for our sins! We don’t have to fear evil, trials, painful circumstances, the sins of others, etc. We don’t have to be slaves to our sin any longer. We do not have to be afraid, because what people intend for harm, God will bring about good! Praise God!

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

4 responses to “God intended for good

  • Amy

    Carrie,

    God is so good and faithful even in our sufferings. I was amazed this morning and journaled about how many wrongs were done to Joseph, yet He trusted God and worked diligently. Anger or bitterness is not recorded in the Bible as being in his heart. He trusted God. To me this is an amazing demonstration of the power of God. Whatever comes into our day or our lives, may we embrace without question that it comes from the loving hand of our father. I continue to praise God for you and your encouragement through the word.

    In Christ,
    amy

  • imaginecreation

    Man, when I have more time, I’ll come soak up some of your writings! I love hearing and talking about God! So good to hear from you on our blog! 2010 was a crazy year . . . and not all went as planned. :0) Justin is an EMT for an ambulance company in Portland, Or. and volunteers with the county fire department in our area. I’m still home with my boys, but they are in school; Tobias full time and Sam half days . . . so I volunteer with my church and try to stay busy with fitness and other interests. A job will fill in when both boys are full time in school. Justin has to go back and finish the Paramedic program, thats the part that wasn’t in the plans . . . ran into a road block there, and even though we don’t understand it, God has an ultimate plan, so we cling to that hope. We’ll be, most likely, looking to move this summer, closer to Portland. Right now J commutes an hour, minimum, one way.

    So, that sums it up. :0) I’m still hair-brained and I’m still running and still stressing over life, even though, deep down, I know God has it under control 110%!

    Again, good to hear from you!! I won’t be a stranger, promise! :0)

  • imaginecreation

    By the way . . . do we keep picking the same backdrops for our blogs?? hahaha, thats weird. :0)

  • Amy

    Hey Carrie,

    I had to come back this morning to clarify. We are on different reading tracks. I hadn’t gotten to the part where Joseph’s brothers returned until this morning.

    I find it very interesting that when Joseph was thrown into jail by the wife, he works steadily in jail for over two years without any seeming bitterness or resentment. When His brothers come back though, he treats them roughly.

    It brings both comfort and saddness. The closer people are to our hearts, the more it hurts and the harder it is to forgive. It is the only way to be free though. Reading this account affirms for me the difficulty in doing so.

    My prayer is that God will give us hearts to lovingly and gracefully forgive those closest to us that we may be freed from the bondage of sin. Yes, it is hard. Yes it hurts. May the Lord allow us to trust in the very real vastness and lavishness of His love. This morning I read Psalm 19 – this is a God who loves us and avenges us more than we know.

    May we continue to press into the one who loves us more than we could ever imagine and may His loving grace flow through us to our loved ones and strangers. Thanks for your continued encouragement to think deeply upon the things of Christ.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

