Blessed be…

Then Job arose and tore his robe and shaved his head and fell on the ground and worshiped. And he said,”Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return. The LORD gave, and the LORD has taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.”   -Job 1:20-21 (ESV)

This past Sunday, the topic which was preached on was Suffering, and the key texts were the first chapter and beginning of the second chapter of Job. Happened to also be the same week that I start reading the book of Job in my chronological reading! Loved how it worked out that way… (Thanks God!) :)

Though I’ve read Job in the past, this time around it has such a deeper impact. Learning how Job was upright, blameless, without sin, and yet was chosen by God to have everything he owned and loved taken away from him, including his health… and yet, he bows before the God who has willed his suffering and WORSHIPS. Ponder that for a moment, because I sure could for the rest of my life! What an amazing display of trust in God and love for HIM, not what he gives us.

This has really given me a much better perspective on those big life events that so easily entangle and trouble us… accidents, disasters, diseases, sudden disabilities or even death. It is all in God’s hands — our circumstances and our very lives – not ours. And no matter what God decides to do with us or what he has given us (it is all controlled by God, not just chaos!), we are nothing without him and he still (even as we lie naked and diseased on our death beds) deserves all our worship. Oh that I would believe and live this out!

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

2 responses to “Blessed be…

  • Amy

    Hey You,

    I miss hearing from you!

    With love in Christ,
    amy

    • Carrie

      Amy,

      You’re so sweet… thanks for your comment and reminder to get back at posting. I’ve been wanting to blog post but our computer at home has been super slow and it is difficult to do anything on there… and so I usually do these posts at work but my shifts have been busy! Argh. It could also be somewhat my difficulty in understanding the book of Job… I hope to write sometime tonight at work though!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

