A Necessary Reminder from Above

In a way, it’s sad that I am so amazed at the power of God’s word, as if I really didn’t think it was powerful or trust in God’s way of moving through reading his word, so then I am so shocked when it hits me and transforms me. Tonight, John and I were having a rough phone conversation (happens more often than we’d like), and at one point, John gave up on his own way of trying to console me and just opened the word and read from the Psalm that he first saw, Psalm 35. Just hearing God’s word immediately calmed me down, dried my tears, brought peace to my spirit. Nothing John could have said could work like that and have such lasting and powerful effects. I guess it’s a good thing to be reminded of how faithful God is to work through his written Word, and I’m glad that our pastor who is marrying us (David Livingston for those from BBC) gave us the necessary reminder/idea to simply speak God’s word when we know that our words aren’t sufficient, because HIS always are.

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

One response to “A Necessary Reminder from Above

  • minnesotamom

    Wow–that IS a good reminder. I, too, love to hear the Word of God when I am troubled in spirit. I often say to friends or family, “Speak truth to me!” and they’ll pull out some scripture. Way to go, John, for doing that!

Leave a Reply

