History buff-to-be?

Lately I’ve been blessed with some extra time on my hands now that the semester is over. It’s always a difficult time when I’m not busy though because of all the temptations to waste time and fill it with needless entertainment. But today I picked up one of my $5 summer deal books from Desiringgod.org, A God Entranced Vision of All Things: The Legacy of Jonathan Edwards and I can’t put it down! It’s so interesting and rich with lessons from early Reformed Christians of the 18th century. I used to hate, let me emphasize the word hate, reading history, but I feel I am actually gaining something very valuable from this book. The chapter about Jonathan’s wife, Sarah, was especially good…. she was an amazing wife and mother (11 children…). Maybe this will lead me into reading more historical Christian biographies. Any suggestions? 

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

2 responses to “History buff-to-be?

  • minnesotamom

    “The Autobiography of George Mueller” (his faith was pretty darn amazing)

    and my m-i-l’s been recommending “The Little Woman” about a missionary named Gladys Aylward for a long time…just haven’t read it yet.

    Both borrowable from Heidi’s library, if you get what I mean. :)

  • minnesotamom

    By the way, I love commenting here because I don’t have to type a THING but my comment. Yay for wordpress!

Leave a Reply

