I seem to discover and ponder the many paradoxes in life just about every day. While at nursing clinicals in the Cities, twice a week, I find myself hating and loving my time at the hospital, almost at the same time, if that’s even possible. I get SO bothered when it starts to feel like a simple routine to care for people in ways that are often times life-saving. I want to explode when I hear comments by the staff joking about the dead body of the person that just died a few rooms down the hall and how they’re glad they weren’t the ones having to ‘deal with it’. It’s so easy to slip into that mindset when it’s what you’re surrounded by 40+ hours a week, but I pray I never fall into that trap. At times I’ll conclude that it’s healthy and right to make light of the situations that you’re faced with as a hospital nurse, otherwise how would any of us get through the day? But my spirit is never at peace with that conclusion. I want to feel the weight of what is going on and care for people with that same intensity and compassion that is due them. As soon as I make it just about giving meds and flushing IV sites and changing wound dressings and documenting, I lose focus of the people I’m serving and how I’m ultimately serving the LORD, and loving people that He created.   God, help me to never become blind to the realness of life and death, of heaven and hell, and of the role that you’ve given me as a nurse to so many hurting people. 

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

One response to “

  • minnesotamom

    Good for you. I, for one, could not handle being a nurse because of all the compassion required for such varied and extreme circumstances. I am so glad there are people like you who are gifted in this area. And I’ll pray that God will continue to keep your heart tender for each and every patient. May they never just become a nameless illness to you!

Leave a Reply

