Happy Easter… the true meaning of it!

Growing up, I was always excited about easter, but the reason why was because of course it meant lots of yummy chocolately treats and lots of pretty spring colored eggs! And who could forget the cute easter bunny! But… and it’s sad to admit to this, I started to realize the true meaning of Easter only a few years ago, probably toward the end of high school when God was drawing me to Himself and I surrendered my life to Him.   I honestly did not know that Easter was so great because of the empty tomb, the risen Christ who defeated sin and death. All along, even though I considered myself Christian, I didn’t know that Easter was about HIM instead of the Easter bunny. Just goes to show the power of culture and pagan traditions that so easily cloud/distract us from God. I’m sure Satan loves all the springy meanings of Easter…. and seriously, I do think they are okay if they are celebrated for the beginning of spring and not focused on Easter Sunday. So I pray that we believers will cling to the cross and the atoning work of Christ this Easter and take in the joy that He has done the work for us and that we can now be in perfect fellowship with our LORD forever… We could not ever ask for more!  

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

Leave a Reply

