moving onto better (yummier) topics

I realize my last post was a rather complaint oriented post… this one will hopefully not be! I’ve been feeling better the past few days now and am just about back to health!  Now onto other topics-Recently I’ve discovered that I really really enjoy cooking. I didn’t have hardly any experience cooking until I got married last summer, and I’ll admit, I was more scared and overwhelmed than excited about it.  Slowly but surely I’ve tried simple recipes, some more complicated (and frustrating/messy), and now I’m feeling like I might actually become a good cook sooner than later! Last week I made a white chicken chili (thanks to a lovely older lady from my church sharing a recipe with me!) and it was yum-o! (Sorry but yes, I do like a little Rachael Ray now and then) Only bad part was that it was probably a recipe for 6-8 servings and there are only… two of us. So, after 4 days of eating the same thing, I started getting sick of it. Then, to solve the problem, I made my first pan of meatloaf! Thanks to my mother-in-law for her very simple recipe!  Husband surely liked it too. Now, I’m starting to dabble with the idea of purchasing some international foods cookbooks, like Indian and Italian foods. Husband has already given up on indian food because of two bad experiences, but I am determined to help him realize that he does indeed like it! My sister, who is big into cooking, recommended some cookbooks to me and I’ve found some more. Do any of you (other than my sister!) have any suggestions? Websites are nice too… 

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

3 responses to “moving onto better (yummier) topics

  • Jen

    Yay for branching out to new cooking possibilities – I’m so proud of you! You know, I bet with some practice and encouragement, you could get John to eat some indian food. You just have to convince him that home cooking is always best and use ingredients that you think he will like (chicken over something else, or peppers instead of mushrooms). Have fun, and buy those cookbooks, you won’t regret it! And if you end up not using them, there’s always amazon and ebay to get rid of them.
    *hugs*
    jen

  • minnesotamom

    Yay Carrie! I didn’t know you were branching out so much. I heart ethnic foods. You two MUST try Babani’s Kurdish restaurant once you move. Heck you’ll be so close you can walk there. If you want company, give us a call!

    For some meatless meals: “Vegan with a Vengeance”
    For slow-cooker meals (a MUST when you have a day job): “Fix It and Forget It Cookbook”
    As for websites, I don’t have any that I really favor, but this one has cool photos:
    http://www.tastespotting.com/

    I usually just google what I’m looking for and a bunch of sites come up. I find one that fits our tastes/budget/the time I have to allot and go for it. And for what it’s worth, the first dish I cooked for Ben was disgusting!

  • imaginecreation

    Hey, you left a kind comment on me blog and I thought I would skip on over and check ya out. :) I do love the cooking . . . not a pro, but I do enjoy. Anyhoo, when I’m looking for something to cook . . . I bake mostly . . . I go to allrecipes.com and search. Whats nice about that site is that people post the recipes, random people, and people that try the recipes comment . . . much like a blog. So, the recipe sounds good . . . then you can see what people thought of it for reals.

    Well . . . thats all I got for ya. My husband is a big Greek food fan, so that is the only ethnic food that I cook . . . except Mexican food (my favorite).

    I enjoy reading your posts . . . I’ll be back. :)

Leave a Reply

