Lasted 5 minutes

Interesting how 5 minutes while doing anything at home goes by in a snap of the fingers, but my attempt at running outside today only lasted about 5 minutes yet felt like an hour. Oh boy, my body was not prepared for running again. I’ve been off and on running, and I mean really off and on (three times a week for two weeks and then months of no running/exercising, for example), for many years now and I’m really getting sick of never sticking to it. I know this is the story of all our lives, but honestly, I want to commit to running more often and make it a habit. It’s not that I want to become a star marathoner or anything, but to at least take care of my body and treat it as the temple of the Holy Spirit as I’ve always wanted to do. The words of the apostle Paul in his letter to the Romans really ring true here… I don’t do the things that I know I should do or want to do.  (And I do that quite well! ha)  So I hope by sharing this new (for the ?th time) endeveor with the “world” (aka the blogging community) will help keep me a little more accountable and track my progress. 

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

3 responses to “Lasted 5 minutes

  • specialkkluthe

    Good luck with running! It’s always the hardest getting started but remember that the harder you work, the easier it becomes. I love running because I play some worship songs on my iPod and just praise the Lord as I run. East River Road has great running trails–I definitely miss it! We have good trails to run on out here in Colorado but it’s just not the same… Keep us posted on how it goes!

  • Jennifer

    Go here – it’s a running program I did that helps build up your endurance slowly so you don’t crash and burn during your first run. Of course, you don’t need to start on week one if you feel okay with it, but you’d be surprised how out of shape you can really be when you try to workout for 20 mins straight! A tip: once you finish this one, create your own “maintenance” running program. I didn’t, and then fell off the wagon and have to start over again….bummer.

    http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

  • minnesotamom

    Sweetness! I’m training for a 5K (sounds wimpy but I’ve never trained for anything but sports before) on May 2. Maybe I can make the occasional comment to ask you how your running is going?

    I’m never probably going to be that person who trains for marathons, because:

    A. Waste of my time
    B. Waste of my time

    But I do believe in taking good care of the body God’s given me, and since 5K can be run in a half hour or so (probably not that fast for me), it’s not that much of a stretch from what I run now. My incredibly sensitive neck/ears can’t handle temps below 70 for running outdoors, unfortunately. Maybe once you figure out your nursing schedule (upon getting a job), we could run together once in a while!

Leave a Reply

