Temptation to splurge on…. books.

One of my good friends used to say, upon walking by a Macy’s shoe sale, “Oh dear, I loves shoes so much… I could eat them.” I guess you had to be there. But my point is, I have that same feeling sometimes when it comes to books. I doubt this is terribly common in this world, especially in our crazy busy technology savvy culture, to feel such a desire for buying– books! Especially books about God, scripture, theology, Puritans, Calvinism, etc. I’ve somehow come across some amazing online Christian bookstores in the past few days and have subsequently discovered the many books that I hope to read someday. One such website is the Westminster Theological Seminary bookstore site. It seems to be THE place to go (online, that is) to find any and all Reformed Christian books and Bibles. And just to share my borderline dangerous excitement… within a few hours (yes, I believe I spent hours browsing on there), I somehow managed to have 32 items added to my cart. No intention on buying any of them (yet!). The extra bonus temptation is that everything is discounted a significant amount…. sigh.  I go through seasons like this where I crave learning more about anything having to do with God/Scripture. I think part of it is because I lacked good teaching (e.g. sermons that had nothing to do with scripture…) for the first 20 years of my life and now that I know it’s out there, I reaaally desire it. Anyway, I could go on, but this really won’t be a fun read for anyone. Let me end by asking for your prayer that I may exercise self-control and be wise with how (much?) I spend money on books… 

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

One response to “Temptation to splurge on…. books.

Leave a Reply

