Alive… just messy and scabby.

Sorry for lack of posts lately… I was finishing up my college career, so I think that’s a good excuse. I’m pretty much done, minus finishing up a final paper for nursing, but it’s a super easy paper and should be done in a few hours tomorrow morning, so I feel like I’m done but yet I can’t claim with an honest heart that I’m done yet. Sigh. 

Otherwise, not a whole lot has been going on. I’ve had some very interesting experiences in the neighborhood with the city-folk, which is a completely new thing for me (and kinda scary right now, but I think I’ll get used to it). One example: I let a ‘neighbor’ (not so sure she is actually a neighbor) down the street from our building use my cell phone to call her friend since apparently she was locked out from her apartment. Later that night I got about 5 phone calls from her friend, thinking that I was the girl that called him (Her name was Zee, or something. His was Howard.) He left a quite inappropriate voicemail for Zee that I listened to at about 1:15am that night… which couldn’t have creeped me out more, so of course the phone went off after that. After a friendly text that I sent to him telling him that I am not in fact his friend Zee, he called me and apologized, after asking if Zee was here with me…. oh dear. That was quite the experience that night/day. 

In other news, John and I got a new bicycle the other day and the next day he had quite a spill on a bike path near the Mississippi River in Mendota and when I came to rescue him, I found my dear husband all scraped up and bloody. He didn’t mention that when he called for me to come get him! Apparently it would have made me too stressed during my drive there, which ended up being super stressful anyways since I-35E south was closed…. So anyway, we came back to our place, after a quick stop at the local Walgreens to stock up on bandages and tape and antiseptic spray (which claims to be ‘no sting’ but man does it sting! per John). He had scrapes on one of his knees, a forearm/elbow, a shoulder, and on his face/chin. Poor thing. He couldn’t smile or even kiss me yesterday because it hurt him to move his face. I felt so bad for him and it was very hard to clean his wounds knowing it was hurting him more, though we both knew it was worth it. Definitely feels different to care for your husband than a complete stranger, that’s for sure. 

So, now John’s new bike is in the shop getting worked on, since the front tire needs replacing and the rim is a little bent… and John’s old bike also is being fixed right now since the seat randomly fell off while he was riding it last week and one of the tire spokes came out. John has no bike and can’t ride even if he did… so he’s pretty bummed since he’s been enjoying it immensely these past few weeks. I’m sure God has a reason for this though, perhaps to remind him not to find his joy so much in biking but in Him alone. Please be praying for John though, that he heals up quick and doesn’t get infected. 

In the mean time, our apartment is still a complete mess and once I finish that paper tomorrow I will finally begin the grueling process of organizing our living room and bedroom. I’m loving living here, just can’t wait for it to not feel so messy and chaotic. I’ve loved being able to walk around town and feel connected to a community, but again, being in a city is definitely new and weird for me. One neat thing we have done, for example: Tonight John and I went up to the roof of the apartment building and were able to watch the fireworks at the Capitol, since this week marked Minnesota’s 150th anniversary. It was quite the view! Eventually I’ll think to take pictures of these events… sorry. 

But for now, since many (two) of you have requested some pictures, here are some: (and Jen, you’ve already seen these, sorry!)

 

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

One response to “Alive… just messy and scabby.

Leave a Reply

