Not a Shadow Anymore

As of Wednesday, I’ll be starting my preceptorship on a medicine unit at the hospital I’m now working at. It will be probably the scariest feeling (exaggerating, yes) when I must go into a patient’s room and tell them, “Good morning, I’m Carrie, and I’ll be your nurse for the day!” Rather than: “Hi, I’m a student nurse with your nurse Anne, but I’ll be doing most of the care for you today.” Eeek, even though I’ll still have resources available, I’m both excited yet REALLY nervous for that first patient who has just ME as their nurse!  Hopefully they aren’t as equally scared of my Tweety-Bird matching scrubs! Ha, that’s not going to happen. Sorry but I can’t help but vent about the frustration of finding simple AND cute nursing scrubs that don’t have Sponge Bob’s, ruffles, or weirdly placed arm pockets on them… seriously! So far I’ve only invested in plain colored scrubs, but I’d really like to find some cute yet not over powerful prints to add to the collection. Any suggestions? (Jodi, you better help me on this one!)

Oh, and if any of you are wondering, the first week of work consisted of an 8 hr day of good ol’ “New Employee Orientation” consisting of sitting in a big freezing conference hall listening to various speakers (the security guy was the only one who kept us from falling asleep!), and then four days of computer charting training at a different hospital over in Minneapolis (part of the same system of hospitals/clinics). On top of that, John was gone for the week for his bike across MN (MS-TRAM), so it was a pretty weird change of pace to be working AND have no husband at home with me. Kinda felt like we were engaged again, which I was not a big fan of. He came home, safe and tan, and I was one happy teary-eyed wife! Next year I’m definitely going to try and train to be able to go on the bike trip with him. It sounds like an amazing time, but with finishing school, taking the nursing boards, and starting a new job, it just wasn’t feasible this year.

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

2 responses to “Not a Shadow Anymore

  • Britt Watts

    One of my good friends is a nurse and she said that one of her patients said “no high schooler in pajamas is taking care of me!”

    I told her to say “fine, I guess no one will be checking on you today!” Ha ha – thats probably why I’m not a nurse!

    Seriously though, congrats on the new position… that’s awesome! And your new place is super-cute (I saw it on facebook).

  • cyn

    I have been wondering how the job is fairing . I know you are super, super at your job! I have not been in bloggyland much lately…out of town…the country really and now I am gearing up for school. blaahh!

Leave a Reply

