Yowza

Summer never seems to be that “vacation” that I always think it will be. No surprise since I started working full-time just over a month ago. We have been so busy (or just plain tired) that I really have been slacking on many things, not just this little blog. I think I’ve come to be okay with the fact that I’ll never be an avid blogger. I love to READ blogs, but I’m just not a good writer and blogging is frustrating to me because I can’t write out my thoughts well. Perhaps it just takes practice like everything else, but since I’ve been blogging since I was 14 and I still have nothing to show for it, I guess I’ve failed that cliche. 

But, good news! John and I finally officially have internet at our apartment! As of last night we are able connect to the outside world 24/7 365. Good and bad thing, but overall I’m glad and excited. The cable guy also decided to be extra nice and bless us with free cable! He said that their company ran out of blocks for our cable connection, so we’ll just get cable for free. Woo! Now that’s something I’m not as excited about because TV is so much of a distraction for me and for John too. I really have enjoyed the quietness of a home without any background noise of the TV. That’s how our house was all the time growing up, so although it’s a little comforting to have it again, I hope we can limit our consumption. There’s almost always something better to do with your time than watch TV, and it just breeds bad things… laziness, marital problems, and most importantly, it steals time away from prayer and reading the Word. I’ve definitely been struggling with that since I started working (be praying for me in that respect). Adjusting to working full-time has been difficult, but I like it a whole lot more than being in school, that’s for sure! At least you have some time “off” whereas in school it feels like you’re never free. 

So as I say in every other post, I hope to keep this sucker updated more often, possibly even with pictures here and there. Now don’t hide your excitement!

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

3 responses to “Yowza

  • seesharpy

    I remember when I used to work on the cross-channel ferry. In the crew mess there was a portable TV which we’d just sit a vegetate for about 15 minutes during our meal breaks.

    I remember a guy used to come and, see everyone watching and say, “Football’s on the other side,” and walk off again.

    I do agree about the TV. My wife likes to have the TV on to go to sleep to. I think it disrupts my sleep though!

  • minnesotamom

    Yay! A post! A real post! Thanks for the update, and you know what? Turn that TV off. You won’t miss it after a month or so, trust me. I went 7 years without and don’t regret it a bit!

    And pish posh about being a good writer. You have a lovely style, and that’s what makes reading blogs so fun–everyone writes differently.

  • imaginecreation

    Hey! Good to hear from you finally! Glad things are going good! Keep us updated.

    God Bless!
    Stacy

Leave a Reply

