RNC

So as most of the country probably knows, the Republican National Convention is going to be in St. Paul, MN this coming week. Perhaps not all of you readers know that I live in St Paul and our apartment is probably an 8 minute walk from the Xcel Energy Center where all the action will be. I also work super close to this center and if I had to drive to work (I walk), I would have to park kinda far away from the hospital and get shuttled into town. Our hospital is expecting a super low census over the week of the RNC, especially on the post-surgical unit that I’m on right now since there aren’t any scheduled surgeries (just emergent ones will happen). And I’m supposed to be taking care of four patients each day this coming week, probably won’t happen because we won’t have enough patients for each nurse to have four (that’s the most a nurse typically has on a day shift at our hospital, which is good!). So we’ll see how that goes. The RNC may prolong my orientation just because of lack of patients… 

But anyway, it’s going to be a very interesting week. I’ve already seen some protests (if seeing hippy looking 20-somethings on bikes mingled with many many St. Paul police officers counts as a protest) and I’m sure we have a lot yet to come. We will probably be able to just walk down our block and look down over the Xcel and see some of the action. I’ve also been noticing lots of helicopters flying overhead, which is already starting to get annoying but I’m sure will just be increasing over these next few days. It’s going to be weird to be watching the RNC broadcasted on the news knowing that it’s only a couple blocks away! Probably won’t ever happen again in my lifetime. 

This was a pretty boring post, but like a said a couple days ago, I’m trying to stay up to date on this thing. I’ve noticed that it really helped me to get out my thoughts about work the other day and I felt a lot more at peace after just typing it all out. 

So, tomorrow John and I and my brother-in-law, David, are probably heading to the Minnesota state fair. We usually go every year. It typically consists of walking around and looking at various farm animals and people watching (sometimes that’s more interesting than the animals!) and of course, eating the obligatory mini-donuts, grilled sweet corn, Sweet Martha’s bucket of cookies (sadly, my husband knew the exact name of them!), and the bottomless milk station. Should be lots of fun, and calories! Which is why I’ll be up bright and early to do a nice long (aka 2 mile) run tomorrow…

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

2 responses to “RNC

  • minnesotamom

    We were at the fair on Thursday–didn’t eat any of the things you mentioned, but we did happen to purchase 14 food items. Husband told me he didn’t want to hear ANY nagging about food, because that’s why he was going there. I’m sad I didn’t remember to get mini-donuts, though. They’re my favorite! Bring with your camera to take photos of what you ate! I’m going to do a post about our food-ventures.

  • Jennifer

    I so wish I had gone to the fair – I miss it. It’s been many years since I was at the big minnesota get together. :-( Enjoy the 50 cent milk station, that was always my favorite!

Leave a Reply

