Switching Over

Last night was my first ever night shift as a nurse. It was tough only because I had to work during the day on Monday, so I only had one night to try and switch myself over to sleeping on a difficult schedule. It didn’t go so well since I was exhausted on Monday night from work and other activities, so i could only stay up until about 2:30am and then I had to give in to sleep… it was almost painful how tired I was.

So I worked from 11pm-7:30am last night/this morning and then got home and slept until about 2. I’m still extremely tired though, but it’s hard to fall back asleep when you wake up in the middle of the day. I probably won’t be blogging much at all until I get a little more accustomed to this new internal clock. And after this week I’ll only be working 32 hour weeks instead of 40… which means more blogging opportunity! :) I start working every other weekend this weekend, too.

Anyway, that’s about all my brain can put out right now. If the night is slow tonight, maybe I’ll write something in here to keep me awake… we shall see. Please be praying that I don’t get sick from this crazy new stress on my body!

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

2 responses to “Switching Over

  • Britt Watts

    Good luck Carrie as you really step into your career!! I can’t imagine having those crazy hours and such a challenging job but that’s why it takes special people to be nurses! :)

  • imaginecreation

    Justin worked swing shift for years and I’m not sure if the body ever gets totally used to it but it definitely got easier! Then he had to make the adjustment to days and not staying up all night . . . he said it was just as weird. Now he deals with 24 hours shifts . . . :)

    Your in my prayers!
    -Stacy

Leave a Reply

