Split Rock

John and I went up to the north shore (aka Lake Superior shore in MN) and camped right by Split Rock lighthouse this week for two days and nights. It was so wonderful to get away and just BE together. Kinda weird at first, I’ll admit, but we kept busy with walking around, sitting by the fire (and of course, eating lots of s’mores!), takings beautiful pictures of the view we had of the lighthouse, lounging in our hammock, and playing with the chipmunks that visited us every couple hours. I loved not having any TV, internet or cell phone access for over two days. The sound of the waves crashing against the cliffs lulled me to sleep… even though my face was pretty chilled as I lay in my mummy-bag sleeping bag. This almost 10 yr old North Face sleeping bag is finally getting the use it was made for!

We’ll definitely be making camping trips like this as often as we can; it was very relaxing and fun and beautiful. I know John really enjoyed getting to use all the camping gear and gadgets that he’s been collecting since we got married last summer. I hardly had to plan or pack anything other than my clothes and toiletries (they had bathrooms AND showers!!) and John took care of the rest. He did so well! Our dehydrated thai food and chicken dumpling mixes that we tried weren’t all that bad! I think I might have even said that I would order them at a restaurant if I could… amazing.

I will post some pictures as soon as I get around to it, probably later tonight or this weekend. I have the weekend off this weekend, after only working Sunday, Thursday and Friday this week. I love not having to work M-F now. Although it makes it difficult to plan things with people, it really helps when my work week is broken up with a day or two (or three!) off every now and then. But, I need to plan meals for the next two weeks this weekend because starting Monday night I start night shifts again…. yay. Pictures to come soon; there’s some really good ones!

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

Leave a Reply

