Changes, Possibly

The past week or so has been quite the week. The hospital I work at has had a really low patient census, which means they need less nurses, which means I don’t get to work much since I’m new and have virtually no seniority. Bummer. Especially since this week (with all the time off I had!), my husband and I discovered how much we LOVE the town of Hudson, WI and would really hope and love to move there eventually. We recently found out that John got accepted into UW-Stout to finish his BA in Special Ed, and since that’s a good hour drive east of here, we hope to move a little closer while still being close enough to where I work in St. Paul. Phew! That was quite the run-on. :)  

So, it’s been a bunch of mixed feelings and thoughts as we get excited about John going back to school in the spring and about us maybe moving to Hudson (and to a townhouse hopefully!) while hearing news of possible lay-offs at my work and also waiting to find out which job John will get. Sorry, I left that bit out. John’s been the job hunting king lately. I think up to 10 applications have been submitted thus far. He’s after them!  Kinda feels like we’re in limbo right now. All these possible changes coming at us, but we are trusting our Lord that he has it planned out before we even have a clue what’s happening or going to happen. Cool huh? 

I heard today though, since I finally got to work (it had been almost a week!! three of those were normal days off, but two were either Requested Absences or a Mandatory Cancel… love the name huh?) that they will, in fact, be laying off some nurses from my hospital. I guess the units affected though do not include me, that I know of. What’s interesting though is that I’m currently in my 9month-year long orientation to all the units that I’ll eventually float to, but since they closed the unit I’m on right now due to low census, I’m actually back to the unit I’ve already been on for 2 months. Fun to be back, but kinda pointless. But what do you do when the unit I’m meant to be getting used to is closed? And they can’t float me elsewhere until I’ve been oriented to those units… Hmmm, we’ll see where they stick me next week! 

Can I just say how excited I am that after next week all the political craziness will be DONE? For now at least. SO excited. 

Oh and I’m also really excited that we FINALLY GOT OUR WEDDING ALBUM!! It’s beautiful!

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

3 responses to “Changes, Possibly

Leave a Reply

