Gruyere and Gouda

My lovely mother recently gifted me with some 10 yr old cooking magazines that were collecting dust in her basement. This post describes my first journey through one of the Cuisine recipes:

Tonight I made a super yummy (and not so healthy) gourmet version of the staple mac ‘n cheese. Didn’t realize that I’d be contrasting it so nicely with our Kraft 87 cent mac ‘n cheese that we enjoyed last night! This one had, as the subject says, some real good cheeses. I should have thought more about the price of this meal, but now that I know, I won’t be cooking it again for just any old meal.

Husband helped grate the cheese while I sauteed the shallots in butter and then added some flour, chicken stock and heavy whipping cream… yum. Then of course, the macaroni and the cheeeese.  I did totally forget to buy the fresh chives… I always seem to forget one main ingredient. I’m still new at this though!

Topped it off with some home-made sourdough bread crumbs (with butter and salt of course!).  It’s quite fun to actually make bread crumbs from scratch, as lame as it really is when you think about it. Not like I’m making the bread, but I did shove it into my food processor! Now that’s hard work! 

We only allowed ourselves one small bowl each (out of a 6 serving dish), and our stomachs now feel like we have a growing child in them, but we’re much more motivated to hit the gym in the morning, so maybe this meal was a good thing?

I’d like to think so… in moderation.

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

One response to “Gruyere and Gouda

Leave a Reply

