Name That Dog

Funny thing happened this morning. I woke up at 5am and was wide awake and actually did not want to sleep anymore. This is revolutionary for me… but is most likely because I zonked out last night at 7pm. Gosh, do you think work wears me out? Only two days on day shift and I’m just about ready for a weekend. I’m really enjoying my job, but since I’m still pretty new, there is far too much to learn every day which just kills the brain energy, and the rest of me follows suit. 

Other than work, John and I have been pretty busy around here. But when I actually think about it, not too much is really going on. John is still trying to find a job for the winter season before he heads back to Stout in January. He’s so excited about school, which makes me happy. I can’t wait for when he can be done with it and have a career that he’s really passionate about. I know he also really looks forward to allowing me to possibly not have to work as much and eventually have time to raise kids. Speaking of which, I had a dream last night that I was suddenly 5 months pregnant. Boy, was that weird!!

We’re also in the midst of trying to plan (but not get ahead of ourselves) for some future investments in two things.

1) A dog! We both loooove dogs and would like to get one when we move to Hudson, WI in May of next year when our rent is up.

Which obviously brings us to the next possible investment:

2) A house! Eventually… probably not for a couple years actually. But we are trying to buckle down lately on the spending of money department so that we can pay off all debt and actually be able to save for a good down payment on a single-family home in that cute town of Hudson. Did I already mention on here that we love it there? Trying not to think about it too much for now though, since I can quickly become inpatient and ungrateful for what we do have now. 

So, what we’re really planning for next is:

3) Another apartment, but IN Hudson! Baby steps, people. But we would like to get a dog that can be active but still able to live in an apartment.  

I don’t know if John and I want to even mention what type of dog we’re currently set on. It’s like how parents don’t want to reveal the names of their soon to be born children so that people don’t talk them out of it (or make fun of their favorite names!). That might sound unwise, but as long as we do thorough research, I think it’s okay to not invite others’ opinions.  It is just a dog, right? Possibly 15 years worth though… 

How about we make a game out of it? (Yes, I know I’m lame.) It’s a reddish/brownish/golden dog… medium sized… short hair…. does NOT smell (YAY!)… or shed!… loves to run around a lot…. but is also very cuddly!… and has very few health problems!   Name that dog!

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

3 responses to “Name That Dog

  • imaginecreation

    I laughed out loud at . . . I mean with . . . your ‘name that dog’ challenge. :)

    Medium sized . . . see, thats what gets me. What is medium? 70 lbs or 30 lbs? :)

    If its 70 lbs, I guess a Vizsla http://www.akc.org/breeds/vizsla/index.cfm

    Uh, that or a Boxer

    I’m assuming its not a Jack Russell. hee hee The color you mention gave that away. And that it doesn’t shed . . . or stink. Byron sheds a lot and stinks. hee hee

    Don’t draw out the suspense too long! ;)

  • jenniferandrews

    something smaller than a golden retriever?? i have no idea… i want a pet too!

  • Carrie

    Okay, so the answer is… a Vizsla! Good job, Stacy!

    After watching Dogs 101 on Animal Planet… I’m also really liking the Rhodesian Ridgeback, but they can get up to 70-80lbs…. which John isn’t too happy about.

Leave a Reply

