Lonely Ingredients

So I have cupboards full of random and seemingly necessary ingredients that, of course, I haven’t used much of, if at all. I really hate to waste, and I love the feeling you get when you know you’ve used what you’ve bought wisely, but for some reason, I’ve struggled to find use for so much of what I’ve invested in over the last year and a half (since getting married and having a kitchen!).

So, please, help me out. Take a look at my list below and then take a second or two to tell me any ideas you may have for me. Any recipes you know of or just simple ideas for integrating them in simple meals or snacks, or. . .whatever!

PLEASE. I BEG OF YOU. HELP!

And thanks. :)

Now to the list:

Dijon mustard
Hoisin sauce
red wine vinegar
white wine vigegar (I blame my sister for these two items! Hehe, love you Jen!)
cooking wines- white, sherry, and (I think) red
Hot sauce, both Chalula and Tabasco
Chicken stock/broth
Beef broth
Cous cous
Corn meal
Dry ranch dressing mix
Old Bay seasoning
Wild rice
Brown rice
Various pastas (like ziti)
TONS of frozen veggies-  broccoli, corn, mixed veggies, peppers
Canned items like:
diced tomatoes
black beans
red kidney beans
whole kernal corn
tomato sauce
tomato paste
tomato soup

And a few more perishable items that need to be used ASAP:
Russet potatoes
Carrots
Onions
Celery (this will get used up anyhow, it’s so good with peanut butter!)

Sigh.

I think that’s it. This feels a little embarrassing to post, and kinda makes me feel like the spoiled foolish newlywed, but whatever, I’m calling out for help! A lot of the sauces/broths/wines were needed for a single recipe, but now I’m left clueless on what to do with them, not wanting to make that one recipe a gazillion times.

So go ahead. Brainstorm and give me some feedback.
THANKS!

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

5 responses to “Lonely Ingredients

  • minnesotamom

    All the veggies plus the chicken stock would be perfect in my potato soup recipe I posted a few months back…
    http://minnesotamom.wordpress.com/2008/09/20/potato-soup/

    If you still have leftover potatoes after that, you can boil them and mash in the dry ranch dressing mix (start with a little, add more until it tastes right) with some milk for some mashed potatoes to accompany something else with some frozen veggies.

    Diced tomatoes, kidney beans, frozen corn and 1/4 c. red cooking wine would be great in a chili (add some ground beef, chili powder, cumin, coriander or whatever other spices you like in yours). I’d add a tablespoon of sugar or 1/4 cup honey to it, too.
    http://minnesotamom.wordpress.com/2009/02/03/delicioso-letza-make-a-pizza-with-the-works/

    Husband puts tabasco on/in everything. He mixes it with ketchup to make a dipping sauce for potatoes, fries, puts it on eggs, etc.

    Wild rice and more chicken broth can be used in my soup recipe at the link above, too. Sheesh, it’s like I wrote that post just for you!

    Rice plus some sort of asian stir fry (google recipes that use hoisin).

    Or black beans and rice (again, google some recipes until you find one that has mostly what you have on hand).

    Tomato soup and grilled cheese.

    Sounds like you have enough (with a quick trip to the store for supplementary ingredients) to get you through the month!

  • Carrie

    Wow, THANKS Heidi! This will help so much! I don’t know why I don’t remember those recipes you posted on your blog, but that’s just about perfect! Awesome, thanks.

  • Brittney Watts

    Hi Carrie! Looks like Heidi already gave you tons of great ideas but I thought I’d pass these on too:

    Turkey Chipotle Chili: http://www.foodnetwork.com/search/delegate.do?fnSearchString=chipotle+turkey+chili&fnSearchType=site (uses stock, onions, could use some substitutions to include hot sauce & diced tomatoes – really good with cornbread – so you could use the cornmeal also)

    Polenta: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/basic-polenta-recipe/index.html (good use of the cornmeal again – yummy side dish)

    Beef Stroganoff: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/beef-stroganoff-recipe/index.html (uses up beef broth, onion, pasta)

    Good luck! :)

  • Jen

    I’ll post my succatosh recipe for you – it will use your potatoes, carrots, frozen corn, and you can do frozen peas instead of lima beans. Super easy.

    Diced tomatoes + all your beans+ corn+ chicken broth + cooked chicken or turkey + hot sauce + garlic and some onions + pre-fab taco seasoning, or cumin and chili powder = taco soup (I have recipe on my blog)

    Make a pot roast in the crock pot with your veggies and cooking wine!!! It’s yummy and easy, and then you could make some mashed potatoes. I’ll post that for you soon.

    Remind me to post my moroccan stuff for you – this goes well with couscous. You need chickpeas and either golden or regular raisins (do you guys eat raisins??)

    You should make a good homemade red sauce with your cooking wines and tomatoes, and then just have it over your pasta. Toss some of the frozen veggies in some olive oil over medium heat and season with Italian seasoning and feta (or parmesan). If you’re feeling fancy, add some fresh basil to the red sauce and the veggies.

    Djon mustard – I have a really good salad dressing recipe that you can use this for. You could also mix it with honey, some spices and drizzle it over chicken and top with some smashed up corn flakes and bake (honey mustard crunchy chicken – it’s good!)

    Should I keep going???

  • jenweinman

    update….PS – I’m coming for a visit this weekend!

Leave a Reply

