A New Goal… the Monthly Reading Plan

We’ll be switching topics from food for a bit…

Over the last couple years I’ve noticed a not-so-good habit of mine forming… starting a book and not finishing it. As someone who really hated reading up until around 19 years old, I would have never imagined to have such a habit as this! But here I am, with book shelves overflowing and thousands of pages that are waiting to be read.

My solution? (And I REALLY hope I stick to this!)

Create a monthly reading plan!

Each month for the rest of 2010 I wrote down 4-5 books that I plan to tackle, hopefully one a week. In order to keep my reading well-rounded, I picked a book from each type such as theology (such as Knowing God by J.I. Packer), a Biblical book on womanhood (Womanly Dominion by Mary Chanski), organization (From Clutter to Clarity by Nancy Twigg), finances, food & nutrition, and fiction (Harry Potter… I’m only on book four and it’s been over 10 years since I started the series. Next up? Chronicles of Narnia!).

No doubt there are over 25 books that I have started and intended to finish but have not gone past page 63, so I’m really hoping and praying this better do the trick. For one, I don’t want to keep buying books and not reading them, since obviously this is a waste of money (my next step, learn to use our library more, DUH!). And although I’ve learned tons of valuable information from the many many blogs I’ve found online, I often get side-tracked on the internet and end up wasting too much time, or simply getting overwhelmed by it all! Also, I yearn to finish books and benefit from quality focused reading on subjects that will help to mature me as a Christian, a woman, a wife, and a home-maker.

If you’re curious what my plans are for April, here you go:

  • Real Food by Nina Planck (almost done with this one!)
  • A Place of Quiet Rest by Nancy Leigh DeMoss
  • The Coconut Oil Miracle by Bruce Fife
  • Debt Proof Your Marriage by Mary Hunt

I’m excited for next month… Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis! One that I started a LONG time ago and got stuck in the middle somewhere…

What books are you reading or planning to read? How do you keep yourself on track?

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

5 responses to “A New Goal… the Monthly Reading Plan

  • Jen

    Yay reading! Jerod has been on me for a while to finish books that I start, and to read fiction. He is such a great reader, and I find myself feeling too tired to read when it seems like he could read all day!

    For me, it all started back in November. I decided I just wanted to focus on ONE book, instead of the 4 or 5 that I was in the middle of. So I finished one of them. At last! It was such a nice feeling. Then, I decided I needed to read fiction. I read so much theology and christian living stuff already, but I really haven’t read fiction for a while. And honestly, I don’t know what I like. So I just chose a best seller (The Kite Runner, which is amazing!) and went with it.

    I don’t buy books anymore – the library has become my friend :-)

    I really like your idea of different types of books each month. I may have to steal that!

    • Carrie

      I have read a couple fiction books but honestly tend to stay away from them only because I know of all the bad fiction out there, and I don’t know how to weed through it all. If you and Jerod ever want to send me a list of good fiction books to check out, please do!! :) And I really don’t plan on buying books anymore, as long as our library has it. I finally started buying books on amazon that are used at only $4 a piece (rather than $9-15). Baby steps!

  • Heather Solos

    I read Real Food and enjoyed the heck out of it. It helped articulate a lot of my opinions, but I don’t necessarily take them to the same length. Enjoy it. :)

  • minnesotamom

    I did the exact same thing in early college. I bought a TON of books and didn’t read a lot of them. Now I’ve been pretty much giving them away, selling them, and reading a few. I have started to realize that if a book hasn’t caught my interest after a few chapters, I just need to give myself some grace, put it down and let it go (even if I paid good money for it!).

    Surprisingly, that method has worked well, and over the past two years I’ve done more reading that I’ve enjoyed than in a long time. And I’m FINISHING them, too!

    And like your sister, the library is my go-to place for most books now (except for something I know I’m going to reference often), instead of Amazon or a bookstore. :)

    • Carrie

      I definitely do have books that I really don’t intend on reading, so I’ll be selling those at a garage sale (hopefully this summer!). My problems is I start a book, love it, then I just start too many other books and get overwhelmed by it all and end up not returning to it for months (or never). And almost always, I really really wanted to read the rest! Mind you, most of these books aren’t the type that grab you and you HAVE to read all 400 pages that night, but that has honestly never happened to me anyway. What I’m trying to say is, I hope that when I return to these books I plan to read, that I get through them and wean something valuable from each without stopping in chapter 2 or 3.

Leave a Reply

