A First: Homemade Bread

For someone who has little experience at even the simple baked goods of boxed cake mixes and frozen pre-made cookie dough cookies… I am proud (yes, even though pride isn’t good, I’m proud of myself for this since it’s good!) to say that I have successfully made homemade bread!  My first loaves, four of them, turned out beautifully! YAY!!!

During the mixing of the ingredients, I was a little freaked since my lovely wonderful new Bosch mixer started making some scary noises, but lessons were learned (i.e. Don’t use the regular mixer thingies (nice name huh?) but use the dough hook to mix in everything, especially the 10+ cups of flour!).  Here’s a picture of the loaves getting put in the oven for their second rising.

Hooray! I bet my husband is even more excited than I am, since he’s been wanting to see that new (and yes, expensive!) mixer get put to good use and make it worth it’s dough (ha, I just love stupid puns!). My next step is to plan ahead a little better and SOAK the grains overnight, along with using freshly milled flour using the 50 lbs (yes, 50 pounds…) of grain berries I purchased last month from Azure Standard.

The recipe for this bread came from here and although it’s perhaps geared a little bit more towards at least somewhat experienced bakers (which, remember from above, I am NOT in any sense!), it was not too hard to follow. I did have to refer to the bread recipe instructions that I got with my Bosch mixer (from Pleasant Hill Grains, a great online store!), especially when I started hearing scary metal clanging sounds as I was mixing in the flour. But alas, it all worked out! :) Praise God!! No more store bought bread for hopefully… ever!  And especially with all those wheat berries in buckets waiting to be put to good use!

Hopefully in the near future (I really do try to post more often, but it always gets pushed back!) I’ll post about some other exciting adventures in the kitchen, like making homemade kombucha tea (and the scary scoby that floats in it!), making homemade chicken stock from a whole roasted chicken (and veggies), making homemade sourdough (have yet to use the sourdough starter that’s growing!), and making homemade kefir!  So much fun!

(P.S. Sorry for the weird placement of pictures in this post. I’m struggling with it and will hopefully figure it out soon!)

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

2 responses to “A First: Homemade Bread

Leave a Reply

