Healthy Living? Here’s a healthy conviction for ya!

This morning I stumbled upon one of my favorite blogger’s reviews of one of those books I reviewed recently, From Clutter to Clarity. I’d like to direct you to that post and read it for yourself. If you look hard enough through the comments, you’ll see my (lengthy) honest reply.

After reading her post and reflecting more (something I’ve been doing a lot of these last couple days/weeks), I’ve definitely been convicted and learned a few things…

This new and exciting (and busy!) journey of healthier and simpler living over these last 6-8months has been a whirlwind for my husband and I. Although I’m glad for the direction my husband and I are going in and don’t regret what I’ve learned and done, I’ve seen how I’ve sometimes (well, let’s be honest, MOST of the time) gotten way ahead of myself. Trying to do too many things at once is my weakness. No wonder I always have 15 books that are half read. The root cause? Most likely my lack of patience and trust in God.

I’ve been convicted on how much I need to slow down, PRAY for more patience, trust, and wait for the Lord’s timing. I need to refocus, check my heart (constantly!), and always evaluate if what I’m setting out to do is ultimately bringing God more glory and me/us more joy. If not, then it’s not what I should do!  Simple as that. Maybe eventually, but perhaps not in this season of our lives.

Don’t you love how God planned this all out and knew that this path that I set out on would lead me to this? Just as with everything, he has his perfect timing and ways. Definitely not easy at times, but I love how he is always working to mold and perfect our faith in Him :)

Edit: Just realized that exactly a month ago today I wrote a post almost entirely about this same conviction. Maybe God’s trying to tell me something, again, huh? And maybe (no, not maybe) I should listen.  I would be so thankful for your prayers!

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

Leave a Reply

