2011… Challenging myself!

I’ve never really been one who sets goals and actually follows through with them. Great at planning, but not at the follow through. Laziness, is what they call that! With some goals, I give myself grace and just keep trying again and praying for discipline. But, for the last couple years I have tried (and “failed”) at reading through the entire Bible in a year. This has been pretty discouraging, only because I have so strongly desired to do this to grow my in my knowledge of the Lord and to “abide in Him.” I know I don’t need to accomplish this to be a true Christian, but I want to know the Word!

So this next year, as you can probably guess, my goal is to use this blog as a sort of journal for what I hope to be a very enriching and life changing experience… finally reading through the entire Bible!

I plan to do this using the chronological Bible in the New Living Translation. I usually read the English Standard Translation, since that’s what our church has used the last couple years (and so does our new church) and since I think it’s one of the most literal AND readable translations available. But, when I found this site, through Proverbs 31 Ministries, I decided to go with the translation they’re using. I’ve always liked NLT since it is much easier to understand, and for my first ever time through the entire Bible, I’m excited to have a little “ease” helping me out :) I’m also hoping to have some encouragement from anyone still reading this or who stumbles upon my blog. I plan to use this blog to journal my responses for what I’ve learned from each day’s passage- something old, something new, and then something I can do.

You might want to check out the site I found, wendypope.org . She does a video blog every weekday with what she has gleaned from the reading. I happen to love her southern accent, since one of my best friends is from the south! Makes me miss her and her family!

I have many other goals for 2011 that perhaps I’ll share on here (like John and I finally becoming debt free, Lord willing!!)… but this goal, of reading through the entire Bible, is definitely my top priority for the year!

Have you thought of any big (or small) goals for 2011?

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

2 responses to “2011… Challenging myself!

  • Brittney

    Hey Carrie! Good to see you blogging again. :) I read through the Bible chronological a few years ago, and it was really fun. (Although a bit confusing once I got to the gospels! Lots of jumping!) I didn’t quite make it in a year because I stopped a lot in the prophets to do some extra research, but I figured that was ok because I was in the Word a TON more than the year before, and I really enjoyed learning more about OT history with the chronological version.

    All that to say, I’m here to encourage you and cheer you on! I look forward to reading your responses too and learn along with you! I’m fine tuning my 2011 goals and I’ll share them on my blog too before the end of the year. We can do it!! :)

    • Carrie

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting Brittney! I’m excited to get into the Word a lot more this coming year!! Thanks for your encouragement and I hope you’ll keep encouraging me through the OT and such… although lately I have been in Leviticus and even found it pretty intriguing! :)

Leave a Reply

