Lord of All Creation

“So God created man in his own image, In the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.” Genesis 2:27

Something old:
All that God created was good, very good! Including us! We are created to look like God (“in his image”)… I need to remember that when I consider how I treat others… they were created in the image of God! Also, God could have very well NOT created things to be good, but he did, which seems to show just how good and loving and beautiful he is.

Something new:
God banished Adam and Eve from the Garden of Eden because he didn’t want them to eat of the tree of life and live forever (Gen 3:22-23). I had always thought that man was made to be eternal (perhaps before the fall?), but now I’m not so sure. It’s interesting though that he didn’t forbid them to eat that tree, just the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.

Something to do:
See all that God created as good (don’t fear everything!), and trust in his actions and his works, especially since he was the one who created me and all that I have ever known or will know!

Day 1
Days to go: 364

This song/video came to mind as I read these chapters in Genesis… I hope you enjoy it! Beautiful song and love the pictures in the video :) God surely made a wondrous creation!

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

2 responses to “Lord of All Creation

  • Amy

    Carrie,

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts as you read through the Bible. It is amazing how God created everything. I’m so glad He kicked Adam and Eve out of the garden so they didn’t have to live forever with their sinful selves. In some ways death is a gift that we may rise again in wholeness and perfection rather than endure in the eternal suffering of sin. Sister you are encouragement to my heart. May the Lord continue to grant you grace to seek His face. As you and I both learn more of His steadfast love and grace, may we experience the freedom from fear. He has promised to do this work and our God is faithful. Know you are thought of with love.

    In Christ,
    amy

    • Carrie

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Amy! :) Encourages me so much! I’m thankful for your insight into why God banished Adam and Eve from the garden… so that they wouldn’t eat the tree of life and live forever in their sinful state. Praise God! And I also love how he put barriers up so they would for sure not get back into the garden. God definitely has our best interests in mind, even when it seems scary and frustrating. I wish I could knock this truth into my brain for good…. but of course, I’m always needing reminding! I’m excited for all the other nuggets of truth I’ll be learning on this journey. It was so hard to only pick a couple from those first 3 chapters of Genesis! Thankful for you, sister! :)

      Carrie

Leave a Reply

