I am with You

“I am the God of your father, Abraham… Do not be afraid, for I am with you and will bless you. I will multiply your descendants, and they will become a great nation. I will do this because of my promise to Abraham, my servant. Then Isaac built an alter there and worshipped the LORD.” – Genesis 26:24b

Something old:

It always astounds me how Jacob lies and cheats his way to getting the blessing from his father Isaac. All the twisted lies and tricks, and even with the help of his mother. “Then let the curse fall on me, my son! Just do what I tell you. Go out and get the goats for me!” (Gen 27:13). How often do we scheme and lie and manipulate our way through situations to get what we want? And is what we want really a blessing in the end, knowing the damage that is done to get it?  We can see here how truly selfish and conniving we really are, at the expense of hurting those closest to us.

Something new:

Even though Jacob had lied and cheated his way to getting the blessing from the LORD through his father, I’m surprised that even so, his father blesses him on his escape to Paddan-aram, saying “May God Almighty bless you and give you many children. And may your descendants multiply and become many nations! May God pass on to you and your descendants the blessings he promised to Abraham…” (Gen 28:3-4a). Isaac kept his blessing, even despite finding out the lies. “And yes, that blessing must stand!” (Gen 27:32c). This is very interesting to me… perhaps that’s the nature of blessings (something we don’t really do anymore). But I know often we take back promises or our words to people once we find out the truth. Is that the right thing to do? I’m not so sure really.

Something to do:

We don’t need to worry about and seek after (especially using lies!) getting blessings from others… or cheat our way to success at school, in a job, etc. The LORD reminds us to not be afraid, for He is with us and it is only His blessing — His love and His promises to us — that we really need.

Day   9

Remaining   356

About Carrie

Lover and follower of Jesus, wife to a loving husband, cardiac nurse in a big city hospital, aspiring cook and baker, notorious night owl, and enjoyer of all the gifts God has graciously given me! View all posts by Carrie

One response to “I am with You

  • Amy

    Carrie,

    Isn’t it amazing that the ones the Lord has chosen before they were even in their mothers womb, He protects and blesses until eternity. It is the steadfast love of the Lord that endures forever. Praise be to Him who has chosen us and will give us every blessing in Christ Jesus. May we stop striving, rest and receive His abundant mercies. May the Lord continue to meet us in His word and fill us with His truths of abundant grace.

    With love in Christ,
    amy

Leave a Reply

